2012 Bay Area Tarot Symposium (BATS)

(It’s funny how a lot of stuff piles up in your inbox and to-do list when you’re gone for a few days. I just now got the chance to write about my trip to BATS! So here goes…)

BATS 2012 LogoWell, I’m back from BATS! I had a great time and I was so happy to see many of my Tarot friends and colleagues. I had some great conversations and spent some quality time with friends such as Barbara Oliver, Jaymi Elford, Georgianna Boehnke, Theresa Reed, Carrie Paris, Gina Theise, Katrina Wynne, Melissa Hill, Paul Nagy, Dan Pelletier, and James Wanless. It’s so great to see them other than in Facebook.

And I attended some great sessions from speakers such as Carrie Paris, Gina Theise, Melissa Hill and Mary Greer. There was so much to learn and so much to take in, but that’s the whole point. I attend BATS and other Tarot conferences because I want to continue growing and developing my skills as a reader.

I was especially intrigued by Mary Greer’s and Melissa Hill’s sessions on the LenormMlle Lenormand Oracle Cards - AGM Mullerand oracle cards. I had taken only a cursory look at this deck before, but it’s something I’m definitely going to investigate further and learn how to use now that I’ve attended these sessions. Yet another divination tool to add to my toolbox!

I definitely had fun, as you can see by the pictures below. I certainly look forward to next year’s conference!

 

Me and Fred West      Carrie Paris and Katrina Wynne

               With Fred West                                                             Carrie Paris & Katrina Wynne

Mike Hernandez and James Wanless - photo by Katrina Wynne           Mike Hernandez and James Wanless Looking Up at Something

                                                                With the inimitable James Wanless…

The Men of Tarot

                                                                               The Men of Tarot

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2012 Bay Area Tarot Symposium (BATS)

  1. JJ says:

    Oh YES Mike, you must get some Lenormand cards. There are many lovely ones by different artists. I made my own deck, so there is an option you might enjoy as well.

  2. Let us know how your Lenormand journey progresses, Mike! I’ve seen a lot of Tarot readers get hooked on Lenormand – myself included. When something has the power to fascinate and intrigue me as much as the Tarot does, I figure there must be something to it 🙂

    ~Sharon

    • I have to say I’m having an enormously great time with it! I’ve been using it during my readings and it’s been a fantastic tool. I’ve actually done parallel readings with both the Tarot and the Lenormand, and it’s just super! I’ve also used the Lenormand to provide detail to a Tarot reading, and the Tarot to provide a broader perspective of a Lenormand reading. Fantastic!

      I’ll have more to say about the Lenormand soon…

      • It sounds great, Mike! I look forward to hearing more from you. I haven’t yet done Tarot/Lenormand readings combined, but I definitely think that would add value to a reading.

      • Thanks Velvet! I’m hoping to start writing more posts soon. I have a few ideas in mind, but I’m waiting to get to them until after I return from the Tarosophy Tarot Conference next week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

