Where the Heck is Mike? An Update…

Does it seem as if I’ve dropped off the radar a bit this year? If that’s what you’ve sensed, you’re pretty close to being correct. I’ve just been flying a bit below the radar, actually. I thought I’d write a brief post explaining why I’ve been doing this, especially for those of you who’ve been wondering where the heck I’ve been hiding.

 

2012 is apparently going to be a year of great, positive change for me, and one in which I’ll be pretty busy. My Guides and my trees started giving me the heads up about this starting last September. It’s also been one of the main themes of my personal readings over the last quarter of 2011, and was brought clearly to my attention by Theresa Reed during her opening reading for me this past April at the 2012 Reader’s Studio. The predictions seem to be holding true, so far.

 

For example, two significant situations have come up since the very beginning of this year. First, I was asked to write another edition of my book, “Database Design for Mere Mortals”, and then I was invited to be the guitarist for a funk band. I said yes to both and, obviously, they will occupy a good amount of my time.

 

Getting Back Into Information Technology Mode

 

(Note: I mentioned this in my last post (in March), but I mention it again here to show how it now relates to my current situation.)

At the beginning of the year, I get a call from my editor and she asks me if I’d be interested in doing a new edition of my book. We’d been talking about this for a couple of years, but we never got anything off the ground. She said she really had to get a new edition out this year and wanted to know if I had the time to do it. I finally had to admit that now is time for another edition of my book, and that it was an opportunity I just couldn’t turn down. So, I said “Yes”. She was actually surprised when I agreed, as she thought I wouldn’t be interested anymore due to the fact that I’m now so involved in the metaphysical arena.

 

Now I’m in major writing mode. I don’t have to do a complete revision, fortunately, but the work I need to do will still take up a good amount of my time. I’m happy to do it, though, as I really love to write. It was interesting putting my technical hat back on, but it felt natural again relatively quickly. In any case, I’ve had my head down working on the book and with any kind of luck I’ll finish my part of the work by the end of September. Then my editor will take over and the book should be ready for sale by winter. Hopefully.

 

At Heart, I’m Just a Guitarist

 

The most surprising thing that’s happened to date is getting the invitation to participate in a funk band. Now, I’m talking real funk here, the music that was popular in the late sixties and early to mid-seventies. This would include music from groups such as Average White Band; Blood, Sweat & Tears; Chicago; Earth, Wind and Fire; James Brown; Sly and the Family Stone and Tower of Power.

 

My good friend Pete is a drummer (and a really good one at that) that I’ve known for quite a few years now. We’ve been tossing around the idea of forming a funk band, but we just never seemed to be able to get the idea off the ground. So he calls me one day in early April to let me know that his friend Mark, a trumpet player he works with in a local big band, has been trying to do the same thing for two years now. Mark asked Pete if he knew any guitarists who might fit the bill, and Pete immediately mentioned my name. “Don’t look for a guitar player anymore, because you have to hire Mike. He’s great. Trust me, you’ll like him.”

 

Mark then contacted me and we set up a lunch meeting to discuss what he’s looking for in a guitarist. To make a long story short, a meeting that was supposed to take only an hour ended up three hours long. It was great because Mark and I were on the same page on just about everything; I think it helped that we are the same age. By the end of the meeting, he offered me the position. “Pete says you’re good, and that’s good enough for me. I’m not going to look for guitarists anymore because I hope you’ll join us.” We shook hands and it was a done deal.

 

I’m now the guitarist for a band that has a six-piece horn section, keyboards, bass, drums and two vocalists. To my absolute pleasant surprise, everyone is really good. This is my dream band! We’ve had a few rehearsals now, and I have to say that this is the best funk band I’ve been in since my time with the Navy Band Funk Band back in 1977. And that’s saying a lot because the Navy Funk Band I was in was totally awesome. I have to say that I’m fantastically happy with my music life just now.

 

What About the Tarot?

 

I’m still doing readings at psychic fairs, although some of my other Tarot-related work has subsided a bit. I was quite concerned about this, but my Guides and my trees reassured me that there is nothing to worry about. In fact, the way they explained it makes the situation seem quite logical and reasonable.

 

They said that the Tarot work has been put on the back burner so that I can concentrate on the book. I have to keep my focus on my writing so that I can meet my deadlines and get my part of it done by the September delivery date. That seemed reasonable to me. And practical. Knowing myself as I do, I probably would be inclined to focus more on the Tarot than my writing. There’s still so much for me to learn about the Tarot and I just love working with it. But I digress. The point is that I need to focus on my writing.

 

But what about the band? My Guides and trees explained that the band was put in my path to keep me from going stir-crazy sitting behind my laptop all day. Good focus is one thing, but over-focus is another. The band is supposed to help me have some fun while I’m working and provide a means for me to decompress and empty my mind every so often. I wouldn’t do this with the Tarot because I’d just be exchanging one area of metal focus to another. Not so with the music.

 

I was finally told that my Tarot work would pick up once again after I completed my work on the book. “So don’t worry.” I’ve learned to trust my Guides and trees without reservations over the years, so I’m not going to concern myself with this one bit.

 

The Timing Is Interesting

 

I mentioned earlier that my deadline for my part of the book is the end of September. I’m personally shooting for the end of August so that I can have some wiggle room in case something unanticipated comes up. Mark, the funk band leader, says he’s thinking about booking gigs for the band starting either in late August or the beginning of September; that means that we’ll be rehearsing from now until then. It occurs to me that I’ll mainly be writing and playing music all summer and possibly into the beginning of the fall. The Tarot will be in the background throughout this period.

 

Last summer, our condo complex was going through a complete refurbish project. My Tarot work was in the background back then, too. It’s odd that I’m not doing much Tarot-wise through two summers in a row. I’m certainly not complaining because it all makes sense in the big picture, especially this year. But I do still find it rather odd.

 

A Few Final Thoughts…

 

If you’ve read this far, I certainly admire your perseverance and patience! I hope this helps to explain why you haven’t seen me around much or participating in Facebook as often as I have in the past. I will still pop in from time to time whenever I take breaks from my writing, and I will definitely be back when all my work is done. I’ll also post where the band is playing so that those of you in the general Seattle/Bellevue/Redmond area can come and see us perform.

 

Thank you for sticking with me – I really appreciate it. I’ll still continue to try to post some of my random Tarot-related thoughts here on my blog throughout the summer. In the meantime, I hope you have a great, fun, relaxing and safe summer.

 

Ciao for now…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Where the Heck is Mike? An Update…

  1. Carrie Paris says:

    Glad you’re listening to your guides, Mike. It sounds like the perfect alignment.

  2. I think so! The message certainly couldn’t be much clearer. 🙂

  3. tarot says:

    Easy to follow! Good post and really nice written

  4. James Joss says:

    The funk band sounds awesome! I’m a fellow guitarist and Tarot lover 🙂 What guitar are you playing at the mo Mike? I’m currently loving my PRS Custom 22 – plays like a dream!

    • I’m using a ’73 Stratocaster that I’ve owned, well, since 1973! It sounds great and it’s just perfect for funk. I hope to have some photos of me playing this guitar soon, and I’ll post them here once they’re ready.

Leave a Reply

