Chaos and the Condo – FREEDOM!

To say that I’m ecstatic that the work on our condo (both interior and exterior) is finally finished is a huge understatement. I’m relieved. Overjoyed. Euphoric. Blissful. Elated. Thankful. Speechless. (Well, not totally speechless.)

I now have my life back. Our unit will look like home again. I can bring back our books and various nick-nacks from storage. I can get up at 9:00am again. I can actually close this year out on a high note and start 2012 with a clean slate. (In more ways than one…)

It’s been a very long seven months, but it was definitely well worth the wait. All of the units in our complex now have new roofs, new insulation and weatherproofing, new earthquake resistance structures, new siding, new decks, new windows, new paint, and new lighting. In essence, the outer structures of our buildings were literally rebuilt. As you’ll soon see, everything looks great!

It was a very stressful experience and there were quite a number of inconveniences along the way, but we did learn a lot about buildings, structures construction, and the construction process. My wife and I will certainly put all this experience to good use when we finally decide to move from our condo into a house.

Before and After…

The real push involving the completion of interior work and painting the buildings came during the last eight weeks. I’m so happy that the construction and painting crews were able to take advantage of our unseasonably good weather. It was definitely a bonus for them and for us!

Here are some final shots of a few significant areas. I thought you’d like to see where we started (per se) and what it looks like now. The change is incredible. A number of us who have been here for 10+ years feel like we’re living in a whole new complex.

 

Overall View of Buildings

Top: As they looked in 2010.

Middle: During construction.

Bottom: Completed look as of 21 December, 2011.

 

C Bldg Evolution

 

Our bedroom window.

Left: During reconstruction.

Middle: With new siding and windows.

Right: Completed look as of 21 December, 2011.

 

Bedroom Window Evolution

 

Overall View of Decks

Left: During reconstruction.

Right: Completed look as of 21 December, 2011.

 

Overall Deck Evolution 

 

Our Deck

Left: During reconstruction.

Right: Completed look as of 21 December, 2011.

 

Our Deck Evolution 

 

The changes are remarkable, don’t you think?

Although the work from the construction crews is finished, there are still a few things we need to do before life gets back to normal completely. We still have to do some painting (a result of interior drywall work), restock our bookshelves with the books we socked away during the construction, rehang the artwork we had on the walls, and install new blinds on all of the windows.

We’ve decided to take our time and do all of this over the next two or three weeks; we’ve already been rushing around enough as it is! Fortunately, this also allows us to enjoy the holidays in a much more relaxed and happier manner.

Parting Thoughts

Now that this is all over (with the exception of the few things I mentioned above), I can finally get back to business. I have a lot of catching up to do, and I’m sure folks will be happy to hear from me again. (At least, I hope so!)

Here’s a brief idea of what I’ll be doing moving forward into 2012:

  • Return to doing readings at various metaphysical stores
  • Participate more often in the Facebook and LinkedIn groups of which I’m a member
  • Post a little more frequently on my blog
  • Catch up on my Hekademia courses (an on-line set of Tarot classes taught by Marcus Katz at Tarot Professionals)
  • Continue writing my articles for the Tarosophist International Magazine
  • Get back to writing my Tarot book in earnest
  • Prepare for my evening session at the 2012 Reader’s Studio
  • Continue working with Marcus Katz and Tali Goodwin of Tarot Professionals on a couple of upcoming projects

There’s more coming up, but I’ll reveal it as the new year unfolds. Until then, stay tuned…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chaos and the Condo – FREEDOM!

  1. Carrie Paris says:

    The wait is over. Think of all the new projects you can do! Very happy for you Mike. Have a merry holiday!

Leave a Reply

