World Tarot Day

Up until a few weeks ago, I didn’t know there was such a thing as World Tarot Day (WTD). It was a very pleasant surprise, however, and I’m very excited to be participating in this year’s WTD. It’s my first, obviously.

Marcus Katz, Director of Tarot Professionals, was the first person to enlighten me about this day. He explained that part of today’s fun is to do a one-card reading for the following question:

What is the spirit of Tarot for the next year?

You then send in your reading and a photo of yourself holding the card (he has an email link on his site for this), and it then becomes part of a worldwide reading for WTD. He’ll post photos and such on the World Tarot Day site. (See the site for more details.)

Here is the reading I did for today’s special day, including the picture I sent to Marcus. I took it in front of my Tarot library. (105 Tarot books and counting. Ok, I love books.)

I used the Osho Zen Tarot for this question, and I drew the Knight of Rainbows (equivalent to the Knight of Pentacles in the Rider-Waite-Smith Deck).

Mike Hernandez Card for World Tarot Day May 25 2010

I have a few decks with words or phrases on them, and sometimes they apply to the readings, sometimes they don’t. In this case, they do. There are many people in this world who will need guidance from Spirit and the Universe over the next year, and we Tarosophists and Tarotistas must do what we can to help them. We must remember, however, to do so patiently, smoothly, gracefully and with great empathy. We should not be in any great hurry to help everyone we meet, but rather we should have faith that the Universe will send us those people who could benefit the most from our assistance. In this way, the Spirit of the Tarot moves forward in a most loving and beneficial manner.

I had so much fun doing this, and I can’t wait to see the photos that will begin to appear on the World Tarot Day site. I’m happy to be a part of this, and I can’t wait until next year!

Card image copyright Osho International Foundation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

