Oh, That Uneasy Feeling…

I was involved in a conversation earlier today with a few folks, and one of them was a “person of faith”.  He was polite and courteous to me, but was noticeably uncomfortable with my stated profession as a Tarot reader. Every time the conversation came my way and I started to talk about the Tarot or answer questions posed by others about it, he would turn his head away nervously with a look that said “I really wish we didn’t have to talk about this.”

Now, I’m the type of person who never wants to make anyone feel uneasy or uncomfortable, and I noted his behavior. I initially played down my topics, as I don’t like to force a conversation on someone who is fundamentally uninterested. As I got more questions about what I do, however, I noticed that he always looked for an opening to change the subject, and did so whenever possible.

I eventually decided not to worry anymore about how he felt about my profession. I don’t mind easing back to keep the mood and tone of the conversation positive and active, but I don’t believe I have to go out of my way to avoid any Tarot topics just because one person feels uneasy about it. It occurred to me that the uneasiness was actually his issue to address and overcome, and that he could break away from our little group if it really made him that uncomfortable.

This incident just reminded me of how much work there still is to do in regards to busting myths and misconceptions about our profession. We really need to do a better job of educating the public and helping them to become more open minded about the esoteric and metaphysical arts and disciplines in general.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

